RSS

war of the sandwiches

29 May

If you caught my earlier post this week, you would know that my husband are trying out the “weekday vegetarian” lifestyle.  While I finished the week successfully, my husband did not so much (he works in a restaurant, folks, we gotta cut him some slack).  Our new recipe for the week was Black Bean and Corn Quesadillas, which turned out mighty tasty in my opinion.  Not my first choice, but good, nonetheless.  And we gotta fit that protein in there somewhere!

The week didn’t go by without a hitch, however.  Around ten o’clock last night, I started to get a craving for my favorite sandwich, which happens to include a little meat.  As valiant as his persuasive skills are, my husband couldn’t convince me to settle for fried potatoes instead.  But alas!  Jimmy John’s has a veggie sandwich!  So we made the trek over to the Ville and picked up their biggest veggie sandwich.  Upon realization that I had never walked out of this restaurant without having eaten a Turkey Tom, I wasn’t sure if I could follow through on the deal.  With some encouragement from my man, I settled in and took my first few bites.  Wowzers!  What a delicious concoction.  Props to Jimmy John’s for creating a veggie sandwich that even non-vegetarians can seriously enjoy and might even prefer.

Monday starts another vegetarian week.  Any good ideas for recipes?

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 29, 2010 in Food, Manhattan, Married Life

 

2 responses to “war of the sandwiches

  1. maris

    May 31, 2010 at 1:18 pm

    hey! love your writing style and the idea of being a “weekday vegetarian”:) i will stop back by much more often!

     
  2. clbeyer

    June 10, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    I followed my way here from your link in the email. What a happy place to end up! Juvenile fiction and attempts at vegetarianism! I can’t wait to read more from you.

    It’s just ODD, really, that I’ve made that very Allrecipes.com quesadilla recipe and ordered the Jimmy John’s veggie sandwich many times.

    -carrie

     

Leave a Reply

 
