RSS

modelland

12 May

No, the title of my post is not a misprint or a typo, or the name of the world that I am currently living in.  Rather, it’s the proposed title of the 3-book series that Tyra Banks will be writing and having published starting in the summer of 2011.  Yes, you heard me right.  Tyra Banks.  Celebrity extraordinaire.  Supermodel.  My generation’s spokeswoman for empowering black women.  Well, maybe not so much the last one, but it’s possible!

Tyra signed a contract with Delacorte Press, a division of Random House, to pen a “fantasy” series about a young girl in a modeling academy.  Admittedly, I am a fan of America’s Next Top Model, Banks’ seemingly successful reality TV show now in it’s 14th season, or “cycle.”  Even though the participants are a foot taller than me and can actually walk in heels unlike myself, I find it interesting to watch their journey to the top or their emotions when they are sent home.  Now the real question is:  Will Tyra’s book series be fierce enough for her standards?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 12, 2010 in Children's Books

 

Leave a Reply

 
