RSS

fried chick’n and taters

10 May

At the aforementioned doctor’s visit, I was informed that I need to gain approximately twenty pounds to be at a healthy weight.  When my husband asked the doctor, “What would be good foods for Amber to start eating?” and his reply was, “Anything.  Really anything would work,” I decided to make some changes.  So that, among other reasons (namely, that my husband leaves a puddle of drool every time my Granny makes this dish), was why I made fried chicken and mashed potatoes last night.  Believe it or not, this was the first time I had ever made these two things.  And when the smoke alarm started going off before I even started frying, I thought it might be the last.  But alas, my friends, here is my masterpiece.

How did I do it, you ask?  Nothing too fancy, really.  Started with drumsticks purchased from my favorite grocery store, Ray’s Apple Market, coated them in flour, then egg, then more flour, then tossed them in a frying pan with already popping cooking oil.  My husband was impressed that the potatoes didn’t need any gravy, but I told him my secret.  Lots of butter, milk and just enough garlic that the taste doesn’t overpower the yumminess of the potatoes.  I’m no professional, folks, but as long as I keep my husband’s tummy happy, I’m okay with life.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2010 in Married Life

 

3 responses to “fried chick’n and taters

  1. Tiffany

    May 11, 2010 at 12:31 am

    When I saw Rays Apple Market…I really thought you were going to say that you bought their Chester Chicken🙂

     
  2. Amy Hervey

    May 11, 2010 at 11:58 am

    Yay for you! And it looks delicious!

     
  3. Amy Hervey

    May 11, 2010 at 11:59 am

    Oh, but to gain weight, you really should have made gravy and LOTS of it.🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
