RSS

New Acquisitions

04 May

Behold, the newest additions to my library!  (Sorry for the poor quality, I was just     too excited to spend time messing around with the flash)  Before now, I had never really been a book-buyer per se, but that was before I discovered the low prices and great selection at my favorite local bookstore, The Dusty Bookshelf.  The past few weekends, I have spent a bit of time there perusing through their children’s literature selection, and this weekend, I decided to take a few home with me. (Don’t worry, I paid for them!)

  • Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White

This magical children’s novel was recently voted the #1 children’s book of all time.  Thanks to Elizabeth Bird at A Fuse #8 Production for all her hard work on that poll.  Annnnnnddddd, Charlotte’s Web happens to be my favorite children’s book of all time.  Imagine that!  A well-thought-out tale of a pig on a farm that treads lightly but intentionally on the subjects of life and death.  Thanks to Paramount Pictures for the original film rendition of Charlotte’s Web, released in 1973.

  • Beezus and Ramona by Beverly Cleary

Who can forget the troublemaker Ramona and her mature but annoyed older sister Beezus?  Beverly Cleary’s Ramona books also made an appearance on the top 100 children’s books list, as they should.  Although published in the 1950’s, the relationships that Ramona has with her family and friends are still applicable today, making this series timeless.

  • The Tiger Rising by Kate DiCamillo

Although I have yet to read this novel by award-winning author Kate DiCamillo, you will find that I loved, loved, loved The Tale of Despereaux and Because of Winn-Dixie, written by the same author.  DiCamillo seems to have a vast array of topics she introduces and styles of writing she uses in her publications and I am more than excited to try out The Tiger Rising.  Find my reviews of the aforementioned novels by her here.

  • Tuck Everlasting by Natalie Babbitt

I recall reading this novel sometime in junior high, but apparently it didn’t quite stick in my mind.  However, it also made the top 100 list and I want to be fair and give it another chance.  Any story involving a fountain of youth is worth another go-round, don’tcha think?

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 4, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
