RSS

Bland Stir Fry

04 May

The Pioneer Woman has ruined me for life.  Now, don’t get me wrong, I love Ree Drummond and everything that she stands for, but I must give credit where credit is due.  If you have not a clue who I am speaking of and feel a tad out of the loop, do not fear.  Today is the day when you are introduced to the smartest, sassiest, most creative rancher wife in the Midwest.  And quite possibly the United States of America.  My good friend Maris introduced me to the wonder and beauty that is the Pioneer Woman and I have been transformed into a wife that enjoys cooking, nay, takes pleasure in cooking.

Let me give you a picture of Amber pre-marriage (also pre-Pioneer Woman!).  My kitchen was filled with lunch meat, Kraft mac and cheese boxes and bags of frozen French fries.  My credit card receipts would tell you that I spent way more time in coffee shops than in the kitchen or in the aisles of the grocery store.  Anyone that had talked with me more than, say, five minutes, could attest to the fact that I am a sucker for a Wendy’s Junior Bacon Cheeseburger and a big ol’ Gumby’s pizza.  However, in the five months that I have been Mrs. Keck, I have been simply stunned at the dishes that these hands can concoct and shovel into my husband’s mouth.

But anyway, back to the original topic of conversation, Pioneer Woman, wife to Marlboro Man and mother of four.  On her blog and in her best selling cookbook, she has introduced the world to a plethora of delicious recipes that man, woman and child can all partake in and enjoy.  Over the past few months, I have introduced my kitchen to a few of these delicious recipes as well.  Last night, I chose to go with a simple stir fry recipe for dinner, and by simple, I mean simple.  I ripped open two bags of frozen veggie mixes, threw them in the skillet, cooked some rice and voila!  stir fry.  Easy, right?  Not so much.  As I sat down and took the first bite, I was disgusted.  Bland, bland, bland.  I could hardly finish half my serving because it just didn’t taste like Fancy Macaroni or Chicken Parmigiana.  Oh, Pioneer Woman, how you have ruined me!  (But I know my husband thanks you!)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2010 in Married Life

 

3 responses to “Bland Stir Fry

  1. Larissa

    May 4, 2010 at 3:16 am

    About the stir fry…next time try mixing 1/2 cup of soy sauce with curry and cornstarch for thicking. I have made plenty of stir fry that was bland, but my mom always saves me. Oh and P.S. I looooove Pioneer Woman. I am sure we have talked about it.

     
  2. Amanda

    May 4, 2010 at 1:56 pm

    Amber! I love this! I love that you’re cooking and so so proud. I love Pioneer Woman. Basically, what Larissa said, in love with Pioneer Woman. I’m sure you’ve read her love story about Marlboro Man. I actually had been a Pioneer Woman fan for quite some time before I read the story. Amazing! And to tag Larissa, it’s all about the spices. Watch out for the soy sauce- waaaayyy too much sodium but crank up the garlic, onion, and every other spice you might have. Oh and we should make a Pioneer Woman cooking date.

     
  3. grassbeef

    May 5, 2010 at 1:53 am

    I love her recipes – do you have her cookbook? It’s my favorite!

     

Leave a Reply

 
