RSS

#82 The Book of Three

21 Sep

For those that have followed the progress of my personal challenge in reading the Top 100 Children’s Books (as published by Betsy at A Fuse #8 Production), you will remember that I did not finish #88 The High King.  Why? you ask.  Because it is the fifth book in the Chronicles of Prydain and there were way too many characters to keep track of having not read the first four books in the series.  However, I did resolve to give the series another chance after reading #82 The Book of Three.  Today, having finished the first book in the series in a matter of a few hours, I have to say that I was pleasantly surprised.

While the fantasy genre is not my favorite, I found the adaptations from Welsh mythology to be fascinating.  The novel was not all heroism, adventure and death.  My favorite character, Eilonwy, is full of sarcasm and silliness.  The main character, Taran, is faced with some decisions he is not capable of making and the development of his character is wonderful to the end.  Still a few too many characters to keep track of, but it was a lot easier to follow them when starting from the beginning.  Unfortunately, I am still torn in my decision to continue reading the series.  What do you think, my faithful readers?  Finish the series or rest in the feeling of enjoying the first book?  I am leaving the decision up to you.

The Book of Three

by Lloyd Alexander

Originally published in 1964

 
 

2 responses to “#82 The Book of Three

  1. clbeyer

    September 21, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Give yourself some grace. :) If you have time and the desire to finish the three books in between (so that you can appreciate the fifth), go for it. But take your time, or save it for last (or another year). That’s my vote!

     
  2. Kari

    September 24, 2010 at 1:41 pm

    While I loved this series as a child (particularly Eilonwy), I have no idea whether it would stand the test of time. So I feel unqualified to tell you whether or not you should finish them at this point. I do think you should give them a try eventually, because I would love to know what you think. I do know it’s a series I can’t wait to read with my own kid. :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

