RSS

#85 On the Banks of Plum Creek

05 Sep

Laura Ingalls Wilder’s “Little House” series makes a few appearances on the Top 100 list, in the same fashion as the Harry Potter series, not in order.  When reading from #100 to #1, we run into On the Banks of Plum Creek first, which is actually book four in a series of nine.  In this book, the Ingalls family travels from their home on the prairie to their home in Minnesota, which happens to be, you guessed it, on the banks of Plum Creek.  At first, they take root in a dugout home, but eventually Pa builds a house for them to settle into.

When I have read Laura Ingalls Wilder’s “Little House” series in the past, I always thought they were great read-alouds.  That has not changed this time around, as I found myself reading passages from “On the Banks of Plum Creek” aloud to my husband.  In celebration of this book and how much I love the series, I recorded a sort-of vlog of a passage from this book.  My favorite passage from the book, actually, because it shows Laura’s mischief and Pa’s amazing ability to father his children in a way that teaches them discipline and lets them enjoy life.  I hope you enjoy my video!

Sorry that it is so dark.  The light in our living room isn’t great.

Stick around for another read-aloud for #42 on the Top 100 list, Little House on the Prairie.

On the Banks of Plum Creek

by Laura Ingalls Wilder

Originally published in 1937

 

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

