RSS

#94 swallows and amazons

16 Jul

I finally finished Swallows and Amazons!  Wow, what a difficult read.  After reading this post from a fellow Top 100 Book Challenger, I knew I was doomed.  And especially when I knew that great books like Ella Enchanted and Ramona and Her Father were not so far down the list after this one, I just wanted to skip over it.  But, my dear readers, I have finished.

Swallows and Amazons is about a group of four siblings who decide to adventure out on the lake near their home, camping and fishing and cooking on their own.  They run into some “pirates” and “natives” and a very surly captain.  It is the first book in a series by Arthur Ransome, a series of which, unfortunately, I will not be reading any time soon.

Now don’t get me wrong, I can completely see why the novel made the Top 100 list.  I absolutely adored the character of the mother in the story, and the personalities of the children do shine through.  The independence that the mother gives her children will be very appealing to young readers that like to adventure.  Just not my cup of tea, is all.

Swallows and Amazons

by Arthur Ransome

Originally published in 1930

 

2 responses to “#94 swallows and amazons

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

